© Marybeth D'Amico 2016


Marybeth D’Amico (1961- 2015), a New Jersey born singer-songerwriter, is known for her literate songs that tell dark little stories. Her 2008 debut, Heaven, Hell, Sin & Redemption, was peopled with accused murderers, prostitutes and rebellious teenagers. Perhaps, due to her journalistic background, the singer-songwriter was naturally drawn to themes with an edge. After living in Germany for 23 years where she raised her family, Marybeth returned to the States. The release of her second album, The Light Inside, found the New Jersey native taking a more personal look at the forces of darkness. The album deftly combines these personal reflections with her signature character-driven tunes, in an effort that one critic said “approaches the level of established artists such as Lori McKenna, Patty Griffin, Eliza Gilkyson and Kimmie Rhodes.”


Nor do the songs on The Light Inside easily settle into one genre. “Stubborn Land” could be straight from the Linda Ronstadt country-rock era, “Star-Crossed” the folk ballad Gillian Welch never wrote and “Der Grenzer”—featuring producer Bradley Kopp’s gritty electric guitar — demonstrates a CSNY-style groove. Austin-based Kopp (Iain Matthews, Eliza Gilkyson, Jimmie Dale Gilmore) brought together world-class musicians for D’Amico’s second album. Featured are Paul Pearcy (The Dixie Chicks, Jimmie Dale Gilmore, Willie Nelson) on drums, Glenn Fukunaga (Bob Dylan, Joe Ely,  Alejandro Escovedo) on bass, David Webb (Jerry Jeff Walker,  Jimmy La Fave, Eric Taylor) on keyboards, Mark Hallman (Carole King, Iain Matthews, Dan Fogelberg) on mandolin, mandola and bouzouki, with Kopp himself accompanying the band on acoustic and electric guitars.


Marybeth’s debut drew critical praise on both sides of the Atlantic, launching at #10 on the Euro Americana Charts and chosen as a top DIY pick in Performing Songwriter magazine. BBC 2 DJ Bob Harris called her songs “extraordinary” and Marybeth played

a live session on Bob’s show in 2010. She toured extensively in the U.K., Holland and Germany, sharing stages with Antje Duvekot, Meg Hutchison, Natalia Zuckerman,  Jeffrey Foucault,  Amanda Shires & Rod Picott, Rachel Harrington and Drew Nelson.

The Light Inside was released by UK Label LongMan Records.


Marybeth died on September 27th 2015 in Jersey City at age 53 after a long fight with a rare, terminal cancer. Her ‘adieu’  album with 9 new songs produced by Pat Byrne is scheduled to be released in Spring 2016.


  1. Reborn
  2. This is My World
  3. Where I Lay My Baby Down
  4. Ohio
  5. Back On My Feet
  6. musegain song
  7. musegain song
  8. musegain song
Marybeth D'Amico Marybeth D'Amico